Kniftybits's Blog

All knitting, all the time.

Great Minds and All That June 20, 2011

I’m sure you’ve heard the adage, “Great minds think alike.” Well, it is definitely true and definitely not something a knitting designer wants to discover at the toe decreases of her finished design.

I had this great spring green yarn (that apparently has been discontinued or I would’ve linked to it) and I was thinking it should have an organic pattern to correlate with its springy color, but a leaf pattern seemed too obvious. Lo-and-behold I came across this great undulating pattern that looks a lot like cabling without the hassle of cabling.  After the appropriate testing I got started.

Fast forward a bit and I was wondering why my spiral toe decrease didn’t seem like it was coming out quite right. One google search later and by some knitting coincidence I happened upon feministy’s blog and her sock Maeby.

Holy frijoles! That is the exact same stitch pattern I’m using!

Oh, there are some differences in the socks — my cuff is longer, my heel is boomerang, my toe spiral, and I didn’t continue the pattern across the entire foot, but still the stitch pattern makes the sock, so we basically had the same sock. So, I thought, hmm, if she used this stitch pattern and I used this stitch pattern I bet we’re not the only ones.

And no we are not.

There is also Luminare by Bex Femme and River Rapids by Sockbug. And those are just the one’s I found in the comment section of Maeby on Ravelry.

Oh well. At least I found out at the toe decreases and not after I was just putting the finishing touches on the pattern fresh back from the tech editor. 😉

My finished socks! They make me happy!

If you enjoy this pattern, please patronize any of the three talented designers ravelry shops. 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Great Minds and All That”

  1. northernnarratives Says:

    What a great post. So true. I love the color of your socks. Judy

  2. Pat Nance Says:

    Bummer about the patterns. The socks turned out beautifully, though. An you were FAST! 🙂


Leave a Reply

