Kniftybits's Blog

All knitting, all the time.

Sordid Stockinette Stories April 30, 2011

Filed under: Knitting Life — kniftybits @ 10:46
Tags: , ,

The other day Newest Knitter told me that her son got hold of her ribbed scarf, frogged it and proceeded to make a yarn knot the size of his two-year-old head.

We had a moment of silence for the tragedy.

Fortunately, a good friend of hers stepped in and untangled the mess that would’ve otherwise gone in the garbage. Hoorah, for friends!

So she started anew in stockinette, because it was easier to do than ribbing.

“But it keeps curling,” she said. “How do I get it to stop doing that?”

“You can’t I replied.” And then I started to babble about the perils of stockinette, but you know what they say, ‘A picture is worth a thousand words.’ So I texted her this.

The sad thing is, I should've known better.

I wasn’t a new knitter when I knit this tight ball of a scarf. Nope, I wasn’t new, just impatient to start an easy project for a stitch and bitch. I wear it anyway and pretend like I meant it to be a “fashion” scarf.

This picture prompted her to call the newest scarf endeavor practice and start another ribbed scarf.

Do you have any sordid tales of stockinette?

 

One Response to “Sordid Stockinette Stories”

  1. Pat Nance Says:

    It’s pretty anyway, even if it is a “fashion” scarf.


Leave a Reply

