Kniftybits's Blog

All knitting, all the time.

A Knitter Born March 15, 2011

Filed under: Knitting Life — kniftybits @ 08:00
Tags:

A few weeks ago I mentioned I taught a wonderful friend of mine to knit. Little did I know that she is a natural born knitter! Or a knitting whisperer as my husband calls her.

She completed her ribbed scarf in one week.

Our conversation went something like this:

Me: “Holy moly! I don’t remember how long my first project took, but I know it was more than a week. Heck, I’m an advanced knitter now and most of my projects still take more than a week….or a month for that matter. What will you knit next?”

Her: “My son wants a hat.”

Me: “Oh, I have a simple hat pattern on my blog.”

Her: “Nope, he wants a hat with ear flaps and multiple colors!”

Wowzers! Now, it’s not like I wrote in my diary when I first attempted circular knitting as if it were a first kiss, however I’m pretty sure I’d been knitting for at least year before I tried it. She’s fast.

One week later.

Her: “I finished the hat.”

Me: “That’s awesome, what shall you try next? Another hat? A sweater? World peace?”

Her: “I don’t know I have to see what Son #2 wants.”

Me: “Cool. I’m really glad you’re taking to knitting.”

So, a day or two goes by and I go onto facebook and see this…

Note the perfect nail as well.

Great googly moogly – her third project and she’s cabling already!

She is the reincarnated soul of Elizabeth Zimmerman. Soon we’ll have to look for her knitting books in stores.

She says it’s because she just doesn’t know any better. To hear her tell it, “It’s like breast-feeding, I never thought it could go wrong so I just go for it.”

I say it’s awesome, just like she is. More of us should practice fearless knitting!

 

6 Responses to “A Knitter Born”

  1. katmcdknits Says:

    I love this post. You had me laughing from the first 2 sentences. Oh to even have 1/4 of Elizabeth Zimmerman’s genes would be awesome!

  2. She’s so AWESOME!!!! I can only dream about being able to accomplish something like this so quickly and beautifully. This line sums it up perfectly: “That’s awesome, what shall you try next? Another hat? A sweater? World peace?”

    And it takes a great teacher to explain the basics so well that a talented person can take them and run from the very beginning – kudos to you for being that teacher!

  3. Shawna Knode Says:

    It’s all due to a fabulous teacher!


Leave a Reply

