Kniftybits's Blog

All knitting, all the time.

Deborah Norville Sock Yarn Review March 12, 2011

Deborah Norville may not be as glamorous as Wollmeise, but when Joann Fabric is having a yarn sale who can resist?

I think I suffer a bit from knitting ADD, because whatever yarn I bought recently I immediately want to knit with. As such, within days of bringing this yarn home I was ready to try a new sock pattern percolating in my brain.

The yarn is nice and smooth, plus it has a pretty sheen, no doubt a result of the fiber content of 50% wool, and for the eco minded of us, 25% bamboo to go with strengthening 25% nylon.

With this fiber content, I wonder how they will hold up on the long run. I imagine they’ll be fine, but I’ll try to remember to update you sometime after the 2oth washing.

The smooth texture makes it nice to work with. The self striping is crisp and well delineated.  However, there does tend to be moments of dye splash or something of the like, as there are occasional spots of a different color. Me being of a perfectionistic ilk, I am not loving that, but oh well.

Note the three stitches that are dark purple. This happens regularly.

I finished the first sock with one ball of the Deborah Norville Serenity Sock Weight yarn in Teal Tease. I didn’t encounter any knots or snags. And the resulting sock is very soft and comfy.

All in all, I recommend it. You certainly can’t beat the price!

Technical details:

50% Wool 25% Bamboo 25% Nylon, 2,25-3.5mm needles, 50 g, 230 yards

I'd show more of the sock, but I haven't blocked it yet, so that'll come in a later post.

 

 

4 Responses to “Deborah Norville Sock Yarn Review”

  1. Linda Says:

    I have two pair of socks knitted with the Deborah Norville yarn. They are comfortable and wash and dry exceptionally well. The yarn seems to hold up to regular cool washes and drying in the dryer. I have yarn from the Serenity selections for three more pair one of which i just started.

  2. Angie Says:

    I just knit my first pair of socks using sock weight yarn – Serenity, in fact. I was wondering how the blocking of your socks went and if you could share some tips with me as I’ve never blocked socks before… And i have no idea what I’m doing. 🙂

    • kniftybits Says:

      Hi Angie, I don’t tend to block socks I’m afraid, so I can’t say how they blocked. When I do block socks I use the sock blocking forms from Knit Picks. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

