Kniftybits's Blog

All knitting, all the time.

It’s Clear To Me February 19, 2011

I’m almost to the bind off on my toe up socks, which I knit with Schoppel Wolle Flying Saucer sock yarn. And, for reasons unknown to me, the yarn didn’t do its cool tie dye bit on the leg of the sock, only on the foot.

I waited for it to materialize, I even made it longer than I normally would, but that magic moment never occurred, except for very briefly on the ribbing. It happened on both the leg and foot of my husbands Flying Saucer socks, which I knit top down, so I assumed it would work toe up too, but you know what they say about assume…

And I am sad that the coolest part of the sock will be hidden away in a shoe.

 

I finished the sock, so I thought I'd show you what I was talking about.

All is not lost, however, as I had a brilliant brainstorm. Wait for it. Clear shoes!

I think this is a highly marketable item for the yarn loving community. We knitters love our socks. We’re proud of our socks. And we want to show them off.  What better way than with clear shoes?

There could be different styles; clear loafers for every day work socks, clear ballerina slippers for delicate lace socks, clear ked-type for coordinating laces with socks, and clear boots for cable socks.

It’s genius!

And I will be first in line with my Schoppel Wolle Flying Saucer socks.

(If someone does invent this, I would like a percentage of the sales for my creative genius. Or free shoes. Either one.)

 

9 Responses to “It’s Clear To Me”

  1. Joan Says:

    Indeed, I have seen clear shoes. Most recent kind were jellies. But have you thought of cutting the thread and starting at a different point in order to change how the color pools? Might not be practical… but if you are using wool you can splice the yarn fairly easily.

  2. Amy Says:

    What size needle did you use and how many stitches on your sock. I’m trying this wool and it’s just doing a boring random pattern. I think I need a different amount of stitches or a different size needle. I have 64 stitches on a size 2 needle going top down. It started spiraling on the cuff, but then stopped and it isn’t doing anything fun. 😦
    Thanks so much,
    Amy

    • kniftybits Says:

      I imagine the pattern you found answered your question, but thought I would add that I worked with 62 sts on 2.5 mm needles.

      • Amy Says:

        Thanks! It’s taken a while, but I think I’m finally getting this right. The whole winding/re-winding is a lot of effort, but the results are so cool. I actually want to try more colors. Maybe you should put a leather sole on yours so you can just wear the socks without any shoes. Happy knitting!

  3. Amy Says:

    By the way, I LOVE your sock! You should be happy! It looks like you have to use this yarn top down.
    Amy

  4. Amy Says:

    Just found this! Maybe this will help on the next pair!

    http://www.die-wolllust.de/shop/download/Schoppel-FliegendeUntertassen.pdf

  5. Pat Nance Says:

    Very creative idea, clear shoes. Unfortunately, those who wear ugly manufactured socks won’t have anything to show off.


Leave a Reply

