Kniftybits's Blog

All knitting, all the time.

Toe Up Sock Territory January 23, 2011

Filed under: Techniques — kniftybits @ 17:19
Tags: , ,

Today I attempted my first toe up sock.

And it was without aid of internet videos! This is a noteworthy feat for me. Written instruction and diagrams are akin to trying to decipher binary code without a computer – some are capable of it, but I am not one of those people.

Regardless, I pulled out my favorite sock knitting book and cracked open the section on toe up socks for the first time ever. I had a vague recollection of a video I watched years ago, before I ever knit my first sock, involving short rows. Neither of the options presented in my book involved short rows.

One cast on was called “The Figure Eight” and the next was “Casting on with a loop” it involved loops (a given with that name), knit a stitch, then yarn over, or something of the like. Figure Eight seemed more straightforward.

My first attempt failed miserably. But, on the second try, success!

After those tension filled first eight stitches I started increasing. I was a few increase rounds along before I realized that I was supposed to be increasing the number of rounds between increase rounds just as I increased the number of stitches between increases. Whoops. Oh well, I just made a note of it and will make the same “mistake” on its mate.

However, now I think I’ve increased too much and the sock looks like it will be too loose. This is a dilemma I endure every time I knit something, especially socks. I diligently knit a test swatch. I meticulously count the stitches and figure my gauge. I then measure my foot width (something I do with each sock knitting endeavor, as if the size might change dramatically from one sock project to the next….it could also be that I have a poor memory.)  I calculate my number of stitches, reduce by 15% for negative ease and still as I knit along I feel like I have too many stitches.

So, should I trust my math and knit forth or should I trust my admittedly faulty gut and frog to before the last increase round and reknit with fewer stitches?

What to do? What to do?

 

One Response to “Toe Up Sock Territory”

  1. […] you may recall, I feared it was too large, so I trusted my unreliable gut and […]


Leave a Reply

