Kniftybits's Blog

All knitting, all the time.

Sockdolager January 21, 2011

Filed under: Knitting Life — kniftybits @ 12:49
Tags: , , ,

Sockdolager.

“You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.” From the epic movie, The Princess Bride.

I was cleaning out my inbox after months of moving chaos that caused it to overflow like a recycle bin after a wine imbibing knit night. Delete. Delete. Delete. Delete. Delete. Wait! Did that say sockdolager? What could that possibly be? I must know! Into the delete file I went.

And according to dictionary.com:

sockdolager \sok-DOL-uh-jer\, noun:

1. A decisive reply, argument.
2. Something unusually large, heavy, etc.
3. A heavy, finishing blow.

Wow! I love it! It seems so knitting related, even though it isn’t. But, we knitters’ could bring it into the fold.

I have already thought of several uses that are knitting related:

Ann’s current knitting project is sockdolager. I noticed the seams on her knitting bag are giving out from all the yarn she’s lugging around.

I dealt my second sock a sockdolager last night and I can’t wait to wear them!

“No, Ann, I would never consider giving up knitting in favor of crochet.” That sockdolager ended the conversation. And the friendship.

 

One Response to “Sockdolager”

  1. Pat Nance Says:

    Love it!


Leave a Reply

