Kniftybits's Blog

All knitting, all the time.

Twee Knitted Love November 23, 2010

As the time to depart England grows near an urgent need to acquire any missing pieces of ‘Britishness’ grows.  I’ve seen this phenomnenon in others, especially working at a shop that sells some fabulous bits of Britishness, and now it’s my turn.

Thusly, a few weekends ago, my fab knitting friend and I found ourselves drifting through Ely like unmoared punts on the river Cam.  We’d come together to learn to spin at our LYS, but the instructor no showed.   After visiting all the yarn purveyors in the area we headed down to my favorite tea room.  “Wait,” I said, “I must stop in Cutlacks, our local kitchen store, to get a teapot.”  Of course I have a teapot, two even, but this is my last chance for a proper British teapot.  And can you ever really have too many teapots?

As I contemplated colors, my friend suddenly warned me off.  “I don’t want to say too much,” she cautioned, “but I know someone who’s getting you a teapot.”

Furrowing my brow and deepening my nascent wrinkles I pondered who she could possibly know that would buy me a teapot.  My mother?  From this summer maybe?  My husband?  The Queen?  Who?

I held off and we went to tea/lunch.  And all week I wondered.

That Friday was our scheduled (and sadly) last Stitch and Bitch.  I arrived at her amazing home with the sun shining.  Upon arrival I noticed the most adorable knitted teapot cozy, but failed to comment on it in our knitting talk.  We sat in the conservatory knitting and bitching.  Bitching and knitting.  Until it was time for tea.

She brought out the fabulous teapot and asked how I liked it.

“It’s adorable!”

“Well, it’s yours!”

I was flabbergasted.  It is so amazing.  Words can’t describe how much I love this cozy.  And to make it even better, it’s the first hand knit I’ve ever received that I didn’t make myself.

The top mimics a thatched roof like those common to area cottages, the stitched on beams are slightly askew just as the settled old beamed cottages are, sweet little lace curtains adorn the windows, and just as any proper British cottage would have there is a well tended garden.  I love all the details!  It even has a tiny button for a doorknob on the bright red door.  And it covers a traditional brown teapot.  I was so touched.  I will cherish it forever.  And it so much better than a generic teapot I could buy.

Isn't it the perfect English teapot cozy?!?!?

This is the back. She even put sunflowers on it. And I LOVE sunflowers!

Plus, she improved the design so the roof comes off for easy refilling.

My friend and I have S&Bed for three years. In that time we’ve downed much tea and treats and completed innummerable projects. She successfully cajoled me into the world of sock knitting and unsuccessfully enticed me with her continental knitting technique. Together we tackled lace, completing a joint lace wrap project within days of each other.  Other knitters have come and gone, but we’ve been constant. I will miss her and our S&B time, but am grateful I will always have this twee bit of knitted love to remind me of her.

And all she’ll have from me is canned pumpkin and baking soda!  I am such a slacker.

 

One Response to “Twee Knitted Love”

  1. Pat Nance Says:

    Love it! She is so thoughtful:)


Leave a Reply

